February 16th 2015 – NEW STAKE IN MOZAMBIQUE!!!! (Pictures too)

Yesterday was the last district conference in the history of Maputo. We were organized into a stake yesterday, and the branches all became wards. President and Sister Kretly brought all the missionaries in. From Beira, the outside areas and from Swaziland. It was an amazing experience. I was having to translate for one of the senior couples the whole meeting so it helped me to pay attention and really listen.

The meeting was presided over by Elder Stanley G. Ellis and also Elder Combulane from south africa was there. Elder Combulane told us that the key to rescuing and saving our lost family members is doing a weekly family council. Not a meeting where the parents just decide everything and the kids opinion doesn’t matter but a meeting where everyone has a say and their opinion counts. Elder Ellis said that the key to saving a country from poverty is through paying tithing. He said that right now Mozambique is the 3rd poorest country in the world but he promised that if the members all start faithfully paying tithing the economy will grow. President [Kretly] expressed his desire for the role of the mission to shrink and the stake presidents role to grow as we continue on in the coming years. It was an amazing conference.

Elder Rebollo and me! I served with him and hadn't seen him in 6 months

Elder Rebollo and me! I served with him and hadn’t seen him in 6 months

Elder Sip, my first comp in Quelimane. This photo is accurate. He does something wierd and I just cracked up

Elder Sip, my first comp in Quelimane. This photo is accurate. He does something wierd and I just cracked up

 

Inacio (left), Efigenia, with Vivi, and their new baby Sandro. I baptized them in July of last year

Inacio (left), Efigenia, with Vivi, and their new baby Sandro. I baptized them in July of last year

Aberto (blue shirt), Beatriz (left flowered skirt), and Izabelle (right). I baptized them last july with thier mother who isnt in the picture

Aberto (blue shirt), Beatriz (left flowered skirt), and Izabelle (right). I baptized them last july with thier mother who isnt in the picture

 The district of T-3 before Elder Herd left

The district of T-3 before Elder Herd left

 

 

Me and my MTC comp Elder Badger

Me and my MTC comp Elder Badger

 

The good ol' MTC district  sadly minus Elder Reinstein

The good ol’ MTC district sadly minus Elder Reinstein

Me and Elder Reinstein (Note - this came to us via  Elder Reinsteins Dad - Thank You Ken!!)

Me and Elder Reinstein (Note – this came to us via Elder Reinsteins Dad – Thank You Ken!!)

 

Elder Thomas (left) and my trainer Elder Abel (center) and me

Elder Thomas (left) and my trainer Elder Abel (center) and me

Leave a Reply

